Stam's Chocolates

I just started my first day of work at Chocolaterie Stam. The chocolate is the best. We are one of two stores in the US. The other one is just a half hour away in Des Moines and that’s where all of our chocolates are made. The owner of the DesMoines shop is actually the son of the son of the son of the original shop owner in Amsterdam. The shop in Amsterdam is still open and owned by the family. Wonderful. I love that.

We also sell gelato and it’s made with Picket Fence Creamery (a local dairy). We also serve espresso drinks and really nice coffee. And our cream? Well, it’s so fresh that we actually have to strain it! You can make butter with it (I should try that come time… like making butter out of fresh cream, not butter out of the stuff we strain off).

So far I am loving working there. It’s a true delight. It’s clean and nice and it’s store policy to say “please and thank you and your welcome”. We call every one ladies and gentlemen. It’s just too cute. We have piano players come in and play all the time too, wonderful music to work by.

I’m sure I’ll have griping points in a few more weeks, but right now, I’m loving it 🙂 The only complaint I have is that my tolerance for sweets is so low. I did good today on coffee though, only 1 cup of regular and I went with decaf the rest of the time. I think I’ll bring some tea in for myself tomorrow. We serve tea, but I’m kind of a snob when it comes to tea, haha.

Well, so much for starting posting drawings every day. Little did I know that I would get not just one but two jobs on Tuesday and start so soon. It’s been great, but things have been a little out of order since Tuesday morning.

I don’t think I’ll have time to post tomorrow, but I’ll shoot for Saturday. Finally get that banana bread recipe for you 🙂

See you then!
Kristin

