I just wanted to pop in and say “hello”. This week has been so nice. I’ve been drawing and fishing and eating lots of doughnuts (where I’m staying there is a dough nut shop right around the corner, so I’ve been going there in the morning for breakfast and reading just relaxing).

Happy Independence Day too!

It’s kind of funny, I’m on vacation right? Well, I’ve actually been going to my friend’s class with her! Hahaha, class is really fun when you don’t have to worry about homework, papers, exams, and taking enough notes to do well on the rest. I’ve been drew a whole lot in her class and have a lot of fun drawings of different people, I’ll scan some when I get back and show them to you.

I have been kicking around the idea of writing and illustrating a short story and I think some of these people I drew (in a very abstracted way), will make for great characters. I’m going home on Sunday and I have to admit I’m looking forward to really working hard in my studio again. This week long break has been really nice though.

I’ve been reading The Pink Glass Swan this week and was able to finish up the intro today. It is a book of selected feminist essays on art. I have to admit, despite having an art history minor, I have little background in feminist theory except that I am a woman and in a way it is my background…. I just have yet to really learn about it. It has been one of my goals for the summer to explore some topics that I have wanted too for the last 8 years, but have been too caught up in assigned reading. I love being the one who assigns the reading for myself!

Oh on the topic of school and whatnot, I received by diploma and my grades and I did end up with a 4.0 for this past semester and a 3.96 for the final gpa of my undergrad and it proudly states summa cum laude on my diploma. Hooray! I have to say I can’t help but feel good about that. It seems a little underwhelming though for how much of a struggle it has been to get my undergrad degree, 8 years of college off and on with a three year concentration at the end to get it finished. I think it will be some time before I go back for an mfa. I have so much I want to do right now that it just seems exhausting even to think about.

No pictures today, but Sunday night there will be. See you all then!

Kristin

