There have been a lot of things coming up in reading and listening and doing that have made me start to rethink what I make my art and craft with, how I live me life and how those two things intertwine and the implications they have.

If I am truly devoted to the idea of craft leftovers, should I really order yarn for a yarn giant that treats me like complete crap while I’m placing an order and gets all their yarn milled 1000 miles away? Shouldn’t I order from the mill that is in my state, or at least my country? Should I try just get yarn that is used, old, recycled, local, on sale, run offs?

And in the same vein of that, should I really even ever shop at Joann’s for craft supplies? But that begs the question, where to shop than? Where is a place that I can buy satin cording for the sock bags I’ve been making lately? I couldn’t have had that spontaneous crafting moment on Wednesday had it not been for my trip on Joann’s the night before.

I heard a great podcast on Bad At Sports Sunday that was kind of in this vein, talking about integrity, but also about legitimacy. Advertising and corporations squeezing in on independent artists and crafts people. Kind of a commercialization of the independent movement that is so rich and wonderful. The artist they were interviewing said at one point, “commercializing something that I am a part of that I don’t want to be commercialized” and “we have to attack them every time they come into our space”.

There has been some controversy in the chicago area about big beer companies providing free beer to art openings to try to appeal to the ‘arts’ crowd. About that she said, “who made this decision, what was signed, what are the concequences, and how can it be replaced”. It’s hard to resist free beer for your opening when your a starving artist, but by taking that beer from that company, you are stopping support for brands you like and are dedicated to. Why is it always up to the artists putting on the show to provide all the spread. I like the model that has been set up by Mess Hall.

Pot Lucks. Home Brew. BYOB.

There are so many alternatives to accepting handouts from big corporate companies, to buying supplies from Joann’s. From buying new things in general

Can I reasonably go without buying new things? Can I keep buying new books and craft supplies to a minimum when all other options are exhausted…. Taking Craft Leftovers to the extreme and really embracing the motto I’ve set up for it of living life creatively, not just crafting creatively sometimes.

I’ve always attempted to keep my materials in line with the concept of my art work and now I’m finally bringing it all together and I’m starting to live my life with more integrity, and I want to share with you the ideas I have come up with to keep my life in line with my morals. How can I stop buying from A-holes and  restore the adventure and uniqueness to life experience. How can those two go together when the common perception that adventure and pleasure comes from buying the cheapest in the best deal?

I’ll post about what I’ve come to find the last couple of years of Craft Leftovers and how I’m going to apply it to my life in general over the summer. An experiment of sorts. See where it goes.

See you soon!

Kristin

