I always feel so guilty when I let my veggies go bad, so just before they go totally south I eat a ton all at once so I don’t have to throw them away. I’m making artichokes for the first time for dinner, I think they might be a little old, but I’m going to eat them anyway. It’s my fault they are old and so if they taste woody, well, I’ll just have to suck it up. I found a deal on how to prep them to eat here. It’s a pretty good site so I added it to my rss feeds.

Edited in later after dinner:
DSC_0525

DSC_0526

It was delicious! I made a lemon butter sauce to dip the “leaves” in. The bulgar wheat turned out really well too. I used about 1 1/2 c. water, a teaspoon better than boullion veggie stock stuff, 2 cloves garlic chopped up, salt and pepper, and a handful parsley. Oh and a squeeze of lemon. I’m going to make it a whole bunch. It’s quick and easy and nice with any veggies.

I have to admit I have been sucking on the food front. Eating out too much, eating crap too much at home. No more. I’m finally coming out from under the shadow of senior project junk.
So first steps to regaining my sanity and health?
-eat better, more home cooked veggies and grains and deliciousness. Keep plenty on stock to take to work and the studio with me, and for healthy snacks when I get cravings (like eating a half of can at pringles at 9pm like I just did)
-clean my apartment – this always makes me feel a whole lot better.
-stay on top of my studio work because I’m actually on top of things right now.

I actually ate a good dinner tonight, with great leftovers for tomorrow. And I started cleaning up by tackling the ferret cage, not just cleaning the litter box, but scrubbing down all of it. So wonderful! Tomorrow I’m going to head to the studio and weave, ah, finally, I get to focus on my weaving. Then go to the ceramics room and glaze the rest of my bowls.

Then I’m going to help my friend Carolyn set up her Etsy shop! Hooray! Finally! I’ll post a review of her stuff once we get it up! Her perfectionist tendencies are shiny and wonderful from a customer standpoint because you know everything she will be selling will be shiny and wonderful and yummy and perfect.

________
Okay, so it’s actually the next day! I never finished the post and I am just going to pick up where I left off and finish it up quick like.
________

So I did go to Carolyn’s and help her to set up her shop, take photos of her wears, and made a banner for her. I think it turned out really well if I do say so myself! You should check it out here.

Speaking of Carolyn, she made me this awesome stitch marker to match my sock that I’m knitting. Now I was really worried because I thought this sock was going to look like some kind of tie dye job gone wrong, well, as it turns out, it’s self striping! Holy crap! I didn’t measure it out or anything, it was a total surprise. I have another skein of it in the shop if anyone is interested.

DSC_0082

And that is all for tonight, I will see you all tomorrow with update pictures of the On Finishing project!

++ Kristin Roach ++

