I got a really good question from kelly c. about why i store my brushes flat. This is what I I’ve been told:

Brushes should be stored flat, especially oil paints which are more likely to have solvents on them, because the when you store them upright, the solvent/water/paint/oil will seep down off the bristles, into your heel. This will create three problems, your ferrule could become loose, your bristles will deteriorate and break off, and the heel itself will become compacted. Here are the parts of the brush, i couldn’t remember what they are called and found this nice diagram on About.com:

Now how true all this is, i’m not sure, but since I started buying fancier brushes (on a tight budget) I decided, what’s the harm of keeping my good ones flat.

In other news, some of you might have seen this on Craft Leftovers today, I visited a contemporary arts center today with Jason to check out the facilities, see what the kind of artists they tend to support and show. Etc etc etc. I really liked it. I really liked the town. Better yet, Jason did too. So I’m going to send in my application for the artist in residency program this week. The deadline is the 28th. Once I get it all turned in and whatnot, I’ll give you all the juicy details. I won’t find out if I’m accepted or not until March.

On another note, someone at the yarn shop told me that i made her ears bleed talking about art theory in regards to my own work….. so sorry if that happens to you all here too. I’m only a bit sorry though because this is the Kristin Roach blog, so I get to write about what is going though my head at any point 🙂

Have a good night everyone!

++ Kristin Roach ++

