Well, kind of like being home sick, but more home sick for my studio.

I really love being here on vacation, but I really do miss my studio. There is something to be said for sitting at a table, surrounded by my wips, inhaling solvent, and feeling full of creative energy. I think i’m going to post to my blog and say something to that affect.

I’m getting close to the end of Paper Mario and good thing too. I’m starting to get bored. I’m longing for my studio really. And nothing else is quite staving off that hunger, no matter how fun the game, craft, book is.
I did do a little drawing the other night:
Note CardNote Card
I added these two note cards to my shop.
I did have a successful batch of cooking for dinner. I made a Brazilian Black Bean Stew from a Vegetarian Soups for All Seasons. It turned out really well and both Jason and I liked it. I’m giving it five stars for that. I bought a blank recipe book and have been adding recipes and writing notes and rating them for future use. So far so good.

Black Bean Stew - PrepBlack Bean Stew - RiceBlack Bean Stew - chicken style for JasonBlack Bean Stew - Vegan style for me

In the Family’s Vegetarian Cook Book I found a great recipe for mac and cheese with silken tofu and a fancied up ramen’s noodle recipe. (I gave that one 5 stars, Jason gave it 3).

I also tried Sesame Seed Chicken from Pop it in the Toaster Oven, chicken for Jason and Tofu for myself. That was also really good. He took it to work today for lunch and I guess everyone was like “that smells so good! where did you get that?” and he was like “Kristin made it for me, it’s delicious” Best compliment ever!

I’ve also continued to be sucked into Ravelry and Jason is constantly like “wow, they really know what they are doing, this site is amazing!” and “How did they get that like that? that is so neat!” He’s totally jealous of their site. He’s a web programmer himself.

I am glad to say that I have actually completed one of my goals of getting all of the knitting and crochet patterns from craft leftovers added to the ravelry database. It’s pretty neat to see all the patterns getting hearted and added to project lists and nice comments. Not a ton, but enough.

You can see them all here if you have a ravelry account. It took quite a few hours, but it’s totally worth it.

Speaking of goals, I thought it was about time I post some of my goals for this year:

For Craft Leftovers:
1. Add all Craft Leftovers’ patterns to Ravelry to help spread the crafty goodness (check, that makes me feel good).
2. Convert all old patterns to pdf’s
3. Do at least two craft sales
4. Add at least 5 items to the shop each week
5. Continue to do the midweek post, patterns each saturday, and craft leftovers monthly
6. Finish my pattern book draft and shop it around (after i move, before the end of the year)

For Green Prairie Fibers:
1. Have a dye session once every two weeks with acid dyes (starting in Feb)
2. Have a dye session once a month with natural dyes (starting in Feb)
3. Invest some money in getting the word out
4. Do at least two fiber markets

For my art work:
1. Continue to add new thing to my new shop each week
2. Find a reliable place to get professional quality prints made
3. Show at least once each quarter
4. Apply for grad school (just to see what happens)
5. Apply for at least 4 residencies
6. Get a studio outside of the home by the time this year is over and after I move to Ames.

7. Draw in my sketch book every day (i’m already doing this, but i need to keep it up)

For myself:
1. Get active 3 times a week (ie – go on a walk, go on a long bike ride, run on the elliptical)
2. Work out with weights 2 times a week
3. Try a new recipe once a week.
4. Do yoga every morning (even if just some simple poses for 15 mins)
5. Clean for 15 mins every evening before I go to bed
6. Do my dishes every day (i’ve been so spoiled with the dishwasher here, i’m going to miss it, something you may not know about me: I HATE doing the dishes).
7. Read one book every month
8. Be making enough income by the time I graduate in May to not have to get a full time job when I move to Ames and in the same vein, Be able to support myself fully by the time my student loans kick in next January.
9. Start recycling (i use a lot of stuff in my crafting, but with no recycling service available in dekalb, it’s tough to get myself to the recycling center of dekalb county, i want to get there this year, starting this month)
10. Eat more local and/or organic foods

Craftroom goals:
1. Get organized
2. Get rid of the clutter
3. Stay on my stash diet until I am down to fitting all of my fabric into one bin and my yarn into the 4 drawer bins easily.
4. Learn to silk screen with photo emulsion
5. Learn a new sewing technique every month
6. Make my corduroy pants I have been dreaming of! (this is a huge thing for me, like socks in knitting for some, it’s like making my own pants is some kind of hang up to my sewing abilities)
7. Finish one handmade Christmas gift a month so I can enjoy my before christmas time at my leisure. I joined a make along on Ravelry to help motivate me.
8. Pay off my credit cards

Overall goals:
1. Get active
2. Get more reading done
3. Get more resourceful
4. Get financially set
5. Get prepared for the future

And if you read all that, congratulations, it’s a whole lot!

