I have officially been on vacation since Saturday night. It has been soooo nice. I don’t really think I’ve done anything productive at all, and I must say, vacation is great.

Remorsefully, I realize that this is most likely the last “winter break” I will have until the fated day that I decide to return to school to finish my MFA.

I started out with grandiose hopes of getting so much done this break, I’m taking it easy and mostly, gasp, playing video games! Jason bought me a wii last summer and I haven’t had too much time to play. So I have Super Paper Mario and I’ve been playing non stop. I think in the last day I have played about 12 hours! It is so much fun.

I have also been doing a whole lot of cleaning, which in a way is really refreshing. Lots of tea drinking and book reading going on too. I have been on a mission to try new recipes and that has also been very rewarding.

I just finished The Ghost Map: The Story of London’s Most Terrifying Epidemic–and How It Changed Science, Cities, and the Modern World

It was really interesting, although some parts of it were kind of gross. I had no idea how bad of a disease cholera is. If you like narrative non-fiction I would really recommend it.

This book is next on the list to start reading: My Life in France

I like France, I like Julia Child, I love cooking. It seemed like a good choice. I’m kind of a sucker for non-fiction. Especially when it is well written.

Not too long ago, about 2 weeks ago, I finished Devil in the White City and found that, like The Ghost Map, to be disturbing, interesting, and fun to read all at the same time. There is some kind of added bonus because I feel like I’m learning, which I am, about things I don’t know about. Like the Colombian world’s fair in Chicago and cholera’s role in improving civic services like sewer systems.

Anyway, I’m going to do my first knitting since Christmas. I’ll show you some my progress tomorrow.

See you all later! Have a super happy new year!

++Kristin Roach++

