I have been wanting to get back into the cello for quite some time. I have moved with it twice now and waited 3 years to start up lessons again. I finally have socked enough money away to get a few months worth of lessons and my cello a tune up.

We just happen to have a great violin shop here in town – Hoshaw Violins – and the owner – Randy Hoshaw – recommended a great instructor to me. I called her up today and we are planning on meeting towards the end of the month.

I was feeling bold when I talked to her and it was a good thing too, she’s a bit out of my budget because she’s really good… so I asked her if she would be willing to barter for some lessons. That I could afford two a month and could we trade for the other two? She said yes! She was really interested in all my handmade things and just happens to be a knitter – so hand dyed yarns and knitting lessons will be part of the trade!

I found some great sites to help me get practiced up today. There is this site called 8notes that has some beginning music theory and general lessons for cello as well as other instruments. And they have lots of free sheet music!

Then on YouTube.com I found this series of instructional videos on beginning to play the cello. It’s already starting to come back to me.

Oh and I found this “tuner” online and got my cello somewhat sort of kind of tuned. At least to the point where it doesn’t completely offend my ears!

My past instructors both told me that I had a lot of potential and picked it up naturally and if only I would practice every day instead of once a week I would progress really quickly. Well, I’m ready! I’m ready to dedicate an hour a day to cello and really give it a shot. I figure I’ll take it three months at a time and see if I’m sticking to it and if it’s worth the investment of both time and money.

So why the cello? I suppose why any instrument. I had always played an instrument, but they always felt awkward. I was never bad, but it just didn’t feel right to me. I had always wanted to play stand up bass or cello, but felt that my hands were too small. I was wrong of course, but this notion had been supported throughout my life. Then I saw Azure Ray. It was the most beautiful sound I had ever heard and it was being played with – for all general purposes – indie music and not classical. It just kind of clicked with me. I looked up all I could on the cello. Rented to Own one, took lessons and away I went. The first time I sat down with my cello I was in love. It just fit. Even playing badly felt better than playing any other instrument had.

When I went away to northern I just did not have the time or money to continue lessons and my cello was horribly out of tune. I pretty much stopped playing, but always swore that after I graduated I would find a way to start it up again. And I did and I am! I’m dropping it off at the violin shop tomorrow and will be starting lessons in about three weeks! I’m so excited!

My goals for cello playing?
In ten years be able to play Bach’s Cello Suite No 1 Prelude.
In one year have my first public performance – A short series of pieces at a coffee shop or maybe at Stam even.
Next summer play in the park on Mainstreet for tips.

After playing around today and really actually practicing for the first time in 3 years, I’m surprised and delighted to see how much my hands are quickly remembering and how easily I’m picking up sight reading again. I need a lot of work, I need a lot of remembering and reminding, but I think I will progress quickly now that I am dedicated to and resolved to practice every day. It’s going to be hard. I’m not always going to want to or be as excited about practicing as I am right now. But I will. And I will improve.

And that is that for today. I was going to draw and post it today, but I ended up practicing the cello instead :) I think that was a pretty fair trade off.

Oh and a side note update. I made vegetarian tacos tonight and they were a huge hit. I got the two thumbs up on them so we will be having those again for sure. I love tacos!

Have a good night and I’ll see you soon!
Kristin

